The bottom line – how you live your life

I’m fascinated by how easily opinions of ethics students are swayed with the reading of each new assigned research paper.  It makes me wonder how many of us have actually taken the time to ask ourselves not only what we believe, but why.

I enjoy asking people what they believe about, oh, say – ethical relativism versus a universal standard of right and wrong, and then ask for reasons.  The response I usually get is a lot of hemming and hawing, and very little in the way of a coherent thought.

As they stammer around, I begin wondering whether they’ve gone through the exercise of reconciling their new-found belief with its practical application.  We all (with few exceptions) live within a society, and within that society, within any number of cultural groups (work, religious community, family, social).  I’m struck by how much of our activity is the result of our understanding of expectations within those groups rather than any deeply held convictions.  Within those groups we act certain ways – sometimes (maybe often) – dramatically differently than we do in other groups.

It’s one matter to gush about the latest study results which suggest this or that ‘truth’ about ethics.  It’s quite another to live consistently.  Do you know what you believe?  Do you know why?  How well can you ‘defend’ your point of view – or do you prefer to believe that the professionals (clergy, psychiatrists, anthropologists, sociologists) will come to the rescue, and save you the trouble.

More importantly, how consistently do you live your life with the theories you espouse?  In other words, how well do you practice what you preach?  It’s far easier to blow with the latest breeze than to set a deliberate course and commit to it.  The world is full of followers, and always in need of leaders (good ones, that is).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The bottom line – how you live your life

  1. Denise says:

    Hey Tim Buddy… wow… I just took a look back at my blog and realized you were the third person to ever comment on my blog… I have known you almost 3 years.  I am so happy that you found S and that you got the chance to find happiness again… no one deserves happiness more.  You are a very good man and she is a gorgeous and I am sure fantastic woman.  Please be happy… I hope your deployment takes a long time so you and your bride can have a ton of fun together before you have to leave.
    Take care of you and yours my friend… thanks for being my friend!
    Big huge virtual hugs to you all!!~

  2. g says:

    I surely know what I believe, Tim.  No wavering. 
     
    I hope all is well, gail

  3. Denise says:

    hey Tim buddy… I sure hope you are doing good. I hope that you are safe and out of harms way. I pray for your safe return.oh and yea… I read this before commenting this time. Good stuff… I do what I can to live what I believe, but for some reason I still fowl up sometimes… must be that HUMAN thing! Take care of you and yours and bless you for your sacrifices!Virtual hugs as always!

  4. Denise says:

    oops wrong fowl.. should be foul… brain tired!

  5. Denise says:

    hi Tim… I sure hope that God is keeping an eye on you and keeping you safe from harm. I just wanted to come by and tell you so long… I am going to stop blogging. I will check back from time to time and I know you have my e-mail addy… so if you can keep in touch. I am praying for your safe return. Take care and of course – Virtual hugs to you and yours!!

Leave a comment